About Us

Saturday, November 2, 2013

Book Review: Destruction of the Soul (The Guild Series, #3) by J.L. Vallance

Destruction of the Soul
(The Guild Series, bk 3)
J. L. Vallance

“There is more at stake in Aedan’s war than any of you realize.”
Vivienne Drake is lost. 

She’d let every one of her walls down, finally allowing others into her guarded circle, and all it brought her was pain and devastation. Now, out of fear and desperation, she’s turning to the one being she believes will be truthful with her; the only being that’s dared to give her anything resembling an honest answer--Linux, The Cruciatum. 

The Daemonium is dangerous and mysterious, and offering Vivienne things that she’s been begging for. He offers her a chance at discovering what lies just beyond her reach. Though his motives remain far from clear, there is something within him that Vivienne is drawn to. And she wants nothing more than to believe in him, to believe in the things he tells her. 

Together, they uncover details of Aedan’s plans, and discover what he intends to use his daughter for. Vivienne learns that she carries within her a destructive darkness, that if she allows, will consume her, and destroy the goodness she contains. 

Fighting an endless battle against lies and deception, Vivienne must find the strength within herself to remain on a virtuous path. She’ll be forced to overcome pain and obstacles in order to discover the truth of just how deep the deceit runs within The Guild. 

Can she remain above the darkness for the sake of Humanity and herself, or will she allow it to devour her light and destroy her soul?

Available for purchase at 


Candie's Review:
OH MY DEAR LORD…This book was amazing!!! I can’t even tell you how fast I read it.  This story took a turn that I never expected and has blown me away. I don’t want to spoil anything for you readers, so let me just say this - LINUX!!!!!  From the beginning this has been an emotional roller-coaster for Vivienne and in true form continues to do so. When J.L. says Vivienne is lost, she means it. Having everything torn from her, she seeks refuge with Linux. She needs answers to her questions and leaves it up to him to help her find them.   Many crazy, sad, revelatory things ensue, and the ending…oh the ending is quite awesome. I think it maybe may be my favorite part of the book. 
Since I’m obsessed with music and such a fan girl of The Guild Series that I made my own playlist to listen to while reading the books. Yes, I've read them more than once. 

1. Lived in Bars - Cat Powers
2. The a Team (live) – Birdy
3. Paper Bag – Fiona Apple
4. Strange and Beautiful – Aqualung
5. Your Surrender –Neon Trees
6. Scream – Chris Cornell
7. Breathe Me- Sia
8. Letting the Cables Sleep- Bush
9. Seven Devils – Florence and the Machine
10. Time is Running Out - Muse
11. Paradise Circus – Massive Attack
12. Unsaid – The Fray
13. Jar of Hearts – Christina Perri
14. Angels – The xx
15. Sleep to Dream – Fiona Apple
16. The Kill – 30 Seconds to Mars
17. Letters from the Sky – Civil Twilight
18. Surrender – Digital Daggers
19. Calm the Storm – Graffati6
20. What I Wouldn’t Give – Holly Brook
21. On Your Side – Pete Yorn
22. I Put A Spell On You – She and Him
23. Somewhere a Clock is Ticking – Snow Patrol 
24. Bury Me- Val Emmich
25. Seven Nation Army – The White Stripes

I just can’t say enough good things about this series. I’m so glad that this was NOT a trilogy and there will be more books to follow. I cannot wait to see what is in store for Vivienne, the Guild and Adean in the next book. I know I say this in all of my reviews for this series, but I just love the darn covers. They are so fantastic! So fitting of all of the books.  And with that I will leave you! Go forth and read!

Rating: 5 Stars - Perfection

NOTE: ARC provided by author to Enchantress of Books in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments:

Post a Comment