About Us

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Book Review: Tempest Rising by Julie Kenner

Rising Storm - Episode 1 Cover
Tempest Rising (Rising Storm #1)
by Julie Kenner

Secrets, Sex and Scandals … Welcome to Storm, Texas, where passion runs hot, desire runs deep, and secrets have the power to destroy… Get ready. The storm is coming. Nestled among rolling hills and painted with vibrant wildflowers, the bucolic town of Storm, Texas, seems like nothing short of perfection. But there are secrets beneath the facade. Dark secrets. Powerful secrets. The kind that can destroy lives and tear families apart. The kind that can cut through a town like a tempest, leaving jealousy and destruction in its wake, along with shattered hopes and broken dreams. All it takes is one little thing to shatter that polish. Ginny Moreno didn’t mean to do it, but when she came home to Storm, she brought the tempest with her. And now everyone will be caught in its fury…  

Available for purchase at 


Viviana's Review: 
WOW! Talk about TV SOAPS in a book! This has all the tropes the tv soap operas have nicely packaged into eight episodes written by eight different authors!  In keeping with the tv soap theme, each novella is categorized as an “Episode”.  In Episode #1, “Tempest Rising”, we are introduced to the cast of characters and the craziness that is the town of Storm, Texas by one of the series creator’s Julie Kenner. 

To say that there is a LOT going on is an understatement! Car accident, death of a beloved member of the community, unknown pregnancy, two potential fathers, scandalous affairs, abusive husbands, older sister taking care of younger siblings, sleazy Politian, old money family, and a few others and all this in the FIRST EPISODE!!!!! I was a tad bit overwhelmed but read the entire thing in one sitting and wanted to know what happened next!

Julie did an excellent job in hooking the readers and leaving them wanting more. Know that as this is written in a ‘tv soap opera’ style, things are left open ended for each book with means there are cliffhangers. Also, there are no HEA so far. Hoping there will be… but for who and for how long? Dun Dun Dun - dramatic suspenseful music here – lol! Soooo if that’s not your cup of tea or if you don’t want to wait between “episodes”...option #1 -  don’t start this series or option #2, wait until the majority have been published and you can get them all or most at once and read through them. If you don’t mind the waiting, the enjoy!!! 

 Rating: 3.5 Stars - I REALLY LIKED IT

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Evil Eye Concepts, Inc. in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.

No comments:

Post a Comment